Episode 7: Top 5 EP’s

Not long enough for a full length record? No problem. In this episode, we count down the top EP albums that stand out in our collections despite their length. In this episode, we also feature the fantastic rock band The Pineapple Thief. You can read our picks after the break.

Subscribe on iTunes: Link

Download this Episode: Link

Erik’s Top 5

5. Aphex Twin – “Come To Daddy”

4. Fleet Foxes – “Sun Giant”

3. Radiohead – “I Might Be Wrong – Live Recordings”

2. Iron And Wine – “Woman King”

1. Nine Inch Nails – “Broken”

Brian’s Top 5

5. The Mercury Program – “All The Suits Began To Fall Off”

4. Godspeed You! Black Emperor – “Slow Riot for New Zerø Kanada”

3. The Mars Volta – “Tremulant”

2. The Impossibles – “4 Song Brick Bomb”

1. Silversun Pickups – “Pikul”

2 Responses to “Episode 7: Top 5 EP’s”

  1. Probably one of the first times I wasn’t totally put off by a choice by either of you (even if I haven’t heard some).

    But how can you not mention “True Love Waits” off of “I Might Be Wrong.” First real recording of that song, which is pretty awesome to hear live if you ever are so lucky.

    Since you don’t do hip hop (Aesop Rock’s “Daylight”), I would also say that Hot Hot Heat’s 2002 EP, Knock Knock Knock does a great job showcasing the variety of the group. And being a bit of a snob, too, I don’t like the remake of the song “5 times out of a 100” that they put on their most recent album, “Happiness, Ltd.”

  2. Aesop Rock made it into my top ten but, alas, did not make my top five. Great EP, but I think his lyrics are often overstated and give his music a “David Lynch of Rap” quality I’m not fond of. Great flow but tends to thrive on nonsense spat with remarkable eloquence (which I suppose could be good or bad… worked for Beck). I haven’t listened to much Hot Hot Heat but they’ve come up as a recommendation in the past, and I trust you not to listen to complete garbage so I’ll have to check them out. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

