Genius Playlist: Death Cab For Cutie – “The New Year”

A new but nonetheless important tradition that I’ve developed in the past half-decade or so is ringing in of every new year not with Auld Lang Syne, but with “The New Year”, a wonderful and poignant take on new beginnings by Death Cab For Cutie. I like to believe that doing so has brought me good fortune, or at the very least a bit of fleeting indie cred. Sadly, this tradition did not carry over to this year, where I found myself at an abysmal party that happened to be booming “Fergalicious” at the moment the clock struck midnight. I have and will continue to contribute every bad thing that happens to me this year to this unfortunate event, and hope and pray that next year begins the correct way.

Fortunately, the redemptive qualities of “The New Year” are not limited to January 1st, as this iTunes Genius playlist got me through an otherwise difficult morning. Filled with semi-obscure tracks from some of my favorite artists, it was a real treat. In the spirit of Epic Genius Playlists, I just can’t keep this one to myself.

1. Death Cab For Cutie – “The New Year”
2. The Decemberists – “Here I Dreamt I Was An Architect”
3. The Shins – “Kissing The Lipless”
4. The Bens – “Bruised”
5. Bloc Party – “This Modern Love”
6. Belle & Sebastian – “If She Wants Me”
7. Iron & Wine – “Such Great Heights”
8. Elliott Smith – “Angeles”
9. Rilo Kiley – “Portions For Foxes”
10. Death Cab For Cutie – “A Movie Script Ending”
11. Interpol – “PDA”
12. The Decemberists – “16 Military Wives”
13. The Shins – “Caring Is Creepy”
14. Snow Patrol – “Spitting Games”
15. The Arcade Fire – “Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)”
16. Iron & Wine – “Jezebel [Live]”
17. Sufjan Stevens – “For The Widows In Paradise, For The Fatherless In Ypsilanti”
18. The Strokes – “12:51”
19. Band Of Horses – “The Great Salt Lake”
20. Death Cab For Cutie – “Tiny Vessels”
21. Ben Folds – “Landed”
22. The Shins – “So Says I”
23. Bloc Party – “Blue Light”
24. The Decemberists – “O Valencia!”
25. Coldplay – “One I Love [Live]”

One Response to “Genius Playlist: Death Cab For Cutie – “The New Year””

  1. reverbnation…

    […]Genius Playlist: Death Cab For Cutie – “The New Year” « The Musical Moron Twins: A Rock and Roll Podcast[…]…

Leave a Reply

