Episode 20: Top 10 Albums of the 2000’s

It’s a historic day at the Musical Moron Twins, as we’ve reached twenty episodes! To celebrate, we’ve decided to count down the best albums of the entire decade. A list this big, however, deserves more than just the top five treatment. Therefore, we’ve decided to share our top TEN albums of the last ten years, and the result is our biggest episode yet. If you simply want to read our top ten picks, you can read them after the break. If you want to hear the episode in all its glory, you can follow the links below.

Subscribe on iTunes: Link

Download this Episode: Link

Erik’s Top 10

10. Death Cab For Cutie – “Transatlanticism”

9. Silversun Pickups – “Swoon”

8. Ben Folds – “Rockin’ The Suburbs”

7. The Postal Service – “Give Up”

6. A Perfect Circle – “Thirteenth Step”

5. The Jayhawks – “Rainy Day Music”

4. Nine Inch Nails – “Year Zero”

3. Tool – “Lateralus”

2. Radiohead – “Kid A”

1. Elliott Smith – “Figure 8”

Brian’s Top 10

10. Belle & Sebastian – “The Life Pursuit”

9. The Dismemberment Plan – “Change”

8. Godspeed You! Black Emperor – “Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven”

7. Broken Social Scene – “You Forgot It In People”

6. The Impossibles – “Return”

5. Iron & Wine – “The Shepherd’s Dog”

4. Radiohead – “Kid A”

3. Explosions In The Sky – “The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place”

2. The Flaming Lips – “Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots”

1. The Mars Volta – “De-Loused In The Comatorium”

4 Responses to “Episode 20: Top 10 Albums of the 2000’s”

  1. Mark Nelson Says:

    Did anyone consider “Brian Wilson Presents SMiLE”?

  2. invadergii Says:

    I definitely did, but I think it’s hard to consider that an album from this decade. I mean, it IS from this decade, but…well, you know what I mean.

  3. Think I’ll make my own list for this one as well. It gets a lot harder once you leave ‘top 5’ territory, so the ordering in the lower 5 might be a little loose.

    10. Madvillain – “Madvillainy”

    9. Johnny Cash – “American IV: The Man Comes Around”

    8. Saul Williams – “Saul Williams”

    7. Antony and the Johnsons – “I Am A Bird Now”

    6. The Postal Service – “Give Up”

    5. Gorillaz – “Gorillaz”

    4. The Flaming Lips – “Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots”

    3. Wilco – “Yankee Hotel Foxtrot”

    2. The Mountain Goats – “The Sunset Tree”

    1. Sufjan Stevens – “Illinois”

  4. I gotta say this is a tremendously overwhelming topic. I thought about putting a list together but had no idea where I would start.

    This is normally the place where I would make fun of someone, but I don’t feel that strongly (in a negative sense) about any of your choices. I am sure my list wouldn’t look at all similar. I can say that I never thought I would see Ben Folds on a best of the decades list. Erik likes the kitsch too much.

Leave a Reply

